At a Meeting of **Pembroke Dock Town Council** held at the Pater Hall, Pembroke Dock on Thursday 7<sup>th</sup> May 2014

**PRESENT:** Councillors P George, P Kraus, M Colgan, D Earl, P Folland, G Goff, P Gwyther, K Higgs, A Lee, M Murton and J Phillips

#### IN ATTENDANCE:

Sarah Scourfield – Town Clerk Amanda Dillaway – Deputy Town Clerk

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors C Fortune, A McNaughton, J McNaughton and S Perkins

#### 2. ELECTION OF MAYOR

To elect a Member of the Town Council to the office of Mayor of Pembroke Dock to hold office, pursuant to Section 34 and 245(6) of the Local Government Act 1972, until the next Annual General Meeting of the Council.

Councillor Pam George took the chair

Council then elected a Mayor for the year 2015/2016.

It was PROPOSED by Councillor P Gwyther

**SECONDED by** Councillor M Murton

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Peter Kraus will be elected as Mayor of Pembroke Dock to hold office, pursuant to Section 34 and 245(6) of the Local Government Act

1972, until the next Annual General Meeting of the Council.

At the conclusion of the election, the Town Clerk, the outgoing Mayor and the Mayor elect left the room for the necessary regalia to be exchanged.

When the newly elected Mayor entered the Warrior Room, at the summons of the Town Clerk, all present stood and remained standing until the retiring Mayor had formally greeted her successor.

The Town Clerk then asked the new Mayor to come forward to make their declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The new Mayor responded to their election to office and thanked the outgoing Mayor.

The newly-elected Mayor formally indicated to Council that Mrs Doris Kraus would act as his Mayoress for 2015/2016.

## 3. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR.

To appoint a Member of the Town Council to the office of Deputy Mayor of Pembroke Dock to hold office pursuant to section 15(7) and 34(7) of the Local Government Act 1972, until the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Council then elected a Deputy Mayor for the year 2015/2016.

It was **PROPOSED by** Councillor K Higgs

**SECONDED by** Councillor J Phillips

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Maureen Colgan will be elected as Deputy Mayor of Pembroke Dock to hold office, pursuant to Section 34 and 245(6) of the Local Government Act 1972, until the next Annual General Meeting of the Council.

The newly appointed Deputy Mayor came forward to the dais to be invested by the Mayor with the Medallion of Office.

The Deputy Mayor made a formal declaration of acceptance of office and responded to their election stating her thanks before taking their seat on the dais.

# 4. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

Councillor Kraus indicated that Reverend Nicky Skipworth would be his chaplain.

# 5. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR AND CONSORT

Councillor P Kraus gave a vote of thanks to Councillor P George for her year as Mayor. Councillor Kraus continued that 2014-2015 had been a memorable year for the town with it being the bicentenary of Pembroke Dock. Councillor Kraus concluded his vote of thanks by stating that perhaps we would see Councillor George taking a ninth term as Mayor in the future.

Councillor P George responded and stated it had been a busy year with the bicentenary running alongside her Mayoral year. A number of fantastic events had taken place throughout the year, including the two parades through the town that had included the children and the visits of the Welsh Guards and HMS Pembroke and these events had left a lasting legacy which will be remembered for a long time. Councillor George thanked her Mayoress, Lauren George, and Councillor Colgan both of whom had accompanied her on official engagements and helped with travel to events. Finally, Councillor George thanked the Town Clerk and office staff for their continued help with invitations and appointments during the last year.

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES ON WHICH THE COUNCIL IS REPRESENTED

# **Town Council Committees**

#### **Planning Committee**

Councillors M Colgan, D Earl, G Goff, A Lee, M Murton, A McNaughton and J McNaughton

# **Consultative Documents Committee**

It was felt that this Committee be disbanded as a stand-alone committee. All documents that are received for review need to be viewed by all members and these will be distributed by the Town Clerk either by email or by post.

# **Personnel Committee**

Councillors S Perkins, A McNaughton, M Murton, M Colgan and P Gwyther

#### **Finance Committee**

Councillors D Earl, P Folland, M Colgan and J McNaughton

It was stated that the Finance Committee required another member. Councillor J Phillips volunteered to take this position

# **Joint Twinning And Tourism Committee**

Councillors Mrs. P.E. George, P. Gwyther, P Kraus, M Colgan and A McNaughton

# Pembroke Dock Tourism Committee

It was felt that this committee be disbanded as it was a duplicate of the Joint Twinning and Tourism Committee.

## **Town Council Representation on Outside Bodies**

# Age Concern (Pembrokeshire)

Councillor M Colgan

# **Dr. Jones Charity**

Councillor P E George

# Pembroke Borough Silver Band Trust

Councillors P E George, M Colgan

# <u>South Pembrokeshire Community Consultative Committee –</u> Dyfed-Powys Police Authority

Councillor M Murton, T Wilcox

## **Louisa Saunders Trust**

Councillors M Colgan and P George

## **Friends Of The Memorial Park**

Councillor S. Perkins

It was questioned whether more members were required on this group as well as Councillor Perkins. The Town Clerk stated Councillor Perkins was noted as she is the nominated councillor who speaks at Town Council Meetings to feedback from the FoMP Group. The Town Clerk further stated that Councillors D Earl and P George were currently members of this group however if any further Councillor wished to take part in this, then they would be welcomed. Councillor J Phillips noted that she would like to volunteer to become part of this group.

# **Pater Hall Community Trust**

Councillors Mrs. P.E. George, P. Gwyther, P Kraus, M Colgan, J Phillips

#### Pembroke Dock Chamber Of Trade

The Mayor (the current incumbent)

## **Festival Committee**

It was commented that the Festival Committee had been omitted from the list and this committee comprises Councillors S Perkins and D Earl. Councillor D Earl would be the nominated councillor for the group.

# **Town Regeneration Committee**

The Town Clerk stated that this relatively new group would now benefit from input from the Town Council to help steer ideas and projects forwards. Councillor A Lee stated that she would sit on this Committee. Councillor S Perkins stated that it is most important that the Town Council supports this group in their efforts to improve the town. Further councillors volunteered their support for this Committee and the full listing of the group is:

Councillors P George, J Phillips, M Colgan, J McNaughton and A Lee.

# Schools - Governing Bodies

#### **Pembroke Dock Community School**

Councillor Mrs. P.E. George

## **Pennar Community School**

Councillors A McNaughton, M Colgan

# St. Mary's School

Councillor M Colgan

7. ADJOURNMENT OF THE TOWN COUNCIL BUSINESS UNTIL 4th JUNE 2015 WILL BE PROPOSED, SECONDED AND VOTED UPON.

It was PROPOSED By: Councillor P George

SECONDED By: Councillor M Murton

RESOLVED: That all statutory business be adjourned until the next meeting of Council to be

held on Thursday 4th June 2014 at 1830hrs (6.30pm)

There being no further business, the meeting closed.